Seal of Dane County County of Dane
Dane County Department of Human Services

Welcome to Independent Living

Independent Living Services are required for youth ages 14+ that are placed in a foster home
or another out of home care setting. These services help teach youth the basic life skills they
need in order to become successful adults.


What are Independent Living Skills?

The Wisconsin Department of Children and Families defines the following areas of focus:

  • Education
    • High school
    • College
    • Technical training
  • Career Planning
  • Getting and Keeping a Steady Job
  • Money Management
  • Finding a Safe and Steady Place to Live
  • Proper Maintenance of Your Living Space
  • Transportation
  • Understanding Medical Coverage
  • Making Healthy Choices
  • Understanding and Accessing Important Documents
    • Birth Certificate
    • Social Security Card
    • Wisconsin State ID
    • Immigration Papers
  • Awareness of Community Resources and Support Systems
  • Creating and Keeping Lifelong Connections to Supportive Adults
  • Having Healthy Relationships
  • Creating Goals for the Future